Tana French Books In Order You Must Checkout 2023 (Updated)

What is the Best book of Tana French?

Tana French is an Irish author known for her psychological thrillers. She was born on May 10, 1973, in Vermont, USA, but grew up in Ireland. 

French studied at Trinity College in Dublin and later worked as an actor in theater, film, and television.

Her debut novel, “In the Woods,” was published in 2007 and became an international bestseller. It won several awards including the Edgar Award for Best First Novel and the Anthony Award for Best First Novel.

French has since published five more novels as part of the “Dublin Murder Squad series, and two standalone novels. Many of her books follow different detectives as they investigate crimes in Dublin, Ireland.

List Of Tana French Books In Order

I have made a list of the books written by Tana French in order of their publication dates to help you in your reading journey. Keep reading..!

1. In the Woods (2007)

In the Woods” is Tana French’s debut novel and the first book in the “Dublin Murder Squad” series. The story follows detective Rob Ryan, who investigates the murder of a 12-year-old girl in a wooded area near Dublin, Ireland. 

However, the case bears striking similarities to an incident from Ryan’s own past, in which he and two childhood friends disappeared in the same woods, with Ryan as the only survivor. 

As Ryan delves deeper into the case, he struggles to maintain his professional objectivity while confronting the demons of his own past.

Get the book here: In the Woods

2. The Likeness (2008)

The Likeness” is the second book in the “Dublin Murder Squad” series and follows detective Cassie Maddox as she investigates the murder of a young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Maddox herself. 

Maddox goes undercover, assuming the victim’s identity in order to gather information from her housemates, who all attended the same university together. 

As Maddox immerses herself in the victim’s life, she becomes increasingly drawn to her new persona, blurring the lines between her own identity and the persona she’s created.

Get the book here: The Likeness

3. Faithful Place (2010)

Faithful Place” is the third book in the “Dublin Murder Squad” series and centers around Frank Mackey, a detective who left his working-class neighborhood of Faithful Place 22 years earlier to escape his dysfunctional family. 

When a suitcase belonging to his long-missing ex-girlfriend is discovered in an abandoned house in Faithful Place, Mackey is drawn back into the web of secrets and lies that he thought he’d left behind. 

Get the book here: Faithful Place

4. Broken Harbor (2012)

Broken Harbor” is the fourth book in the “Dublin Murder Squad” series and follows detective Mick “Scorcher” Kennedy as he investigates the murder of a family in a luxury housing development on the outskirts of Dublin. 

As Kennedy delves into the case, he uncovers a web of financial troubles, mental illness, and family secrets that threaten to unravel everything he thought he knew.

Get the book here: Broken Harbor

5. The Secret Place (2014)

The Secret Place” is the fifth book in the “Dublin Murder Squad” series and centers around the murder of a teenage boy at an exclusive girls’ boarding school in Dublin. 

Detectives Stephen Moran and Antoinette Conway are assigned to the case, and they soon discover that the girls at the school have their own secret world, complete with a bulletin board where they can anonymously post their thoughts and feelings. 

As Moran and Conway investigate, they become enmeshed in the complex dynamics of the girls’ friendships and rivalries and uncover a shocking truth about the murder.

Get the book here: The Secret Place

6. The Trespasser (2016)

The Trespasser” is the sixth book in the Murder series. The story follows detective Antoinette Conway as she investigates the murder of Aislinn Murray, a young woman found dead in her home. 

As Conway and her partner Stephen Moran delve into the case, they discover that Murray had been dating a man named Rory Fallon, who quickly becomes their prime suspect. 

However, as the investigation progresses, Conway begins to feel increasingly isolated and undermined by her colleagues, who seem intent on closing the case as quickly as possible.

Get the book here: The Trespasser

7. The Witch Elm (2018)

The Witch Elm” is a standalone novel by French. It tells the story of Toby Hennessy, a young man living a privileged life in Dublin. 

When Toby is attacked and left for dead in his own apartment, he begins to question everything he thought he knew about himself and his family. As he struggles to recover from his injuries, he moves in with his uncle and his family at Ivy House.

There, he discovers a skull hidden in the trunk of a tree and soon finds himself embroiled in a decades-old mystery that threatens to unravel his family’s secrets and lies.

Get the book here: The Witch Elm

8. The Searcher (2020)

The Searcher” is another standalone novel by French. It follows retired detective Cal Hooper as he moves to a small town in rural Ireland, seeking a peaceful life away from the bustle of Dublin.

However, when a local teenager named Trey asks for his help in finding his missing brother, Cal is drawn into a web of secrets and lies that threaten to destroy the tranquility he has found. 

Get the book here: The Searcher


Tana French’s novels feature complex and multi-dimensional characters who are both flawed and relatable. Her writing is known for its psychological depth and complex characters as well as its richly atmospheric settings. 

French is a master of the slow-burn thriller, building tension and suspense over the course of her novels until the explosive climax. Her books are hard to put down, and they keep the readers guessing until the very end.

She has been praised for her ability to weave together suspenseful plots and literary prose.


"As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases"