Jason Kokrak Is No Longer A Part of Travelers Championship

Kokrak had been outside the cut line on his final hole, when his second shot found the out of bounds area.

In golf, disqualifications happen quite rarely. A PGA Tour player was, however, disqualified at the Travelers Championship on Friday after “failing to register a score on his closing hole (No. 9) in the second round and “subsequently failing to return a scorecard.”

When the ball flew out of bounds, it was initially thought that Jason Kokrak had gotten into his car and driven off. 

However, it was later confirmed by one source that the American and his playing partners were unaware of this, and by the time he realized where to drop the ball, the group behind him was already waiting.

Kokrak picked up and was DQ’d since he knew he would miss the cut regardless and didn’t want to keep them waiting any longer.

If your ball is unquestionably out of bounds, per Rule 14.6, you must play another ball under penalty of stroke and distance from the last place you played, whether from the tee or the fairway. You would now be playing three off the tee if your tee shot had gone OOB.

The American had shot a 67 in the opening round, but after making his second double bogey of the day, he was four over par in the second. 

He had just 43 yards to the flag after hitting his drive 327 yards on the ninth hole, his final shot. Kokrak then continued to make his approach over the green, across a road, and into the off-limits area.

As of this writing, Kokrak, who has purportedly been associated with the Saudi-sponsored LIV Golf Invitational Series, has not yet responded to the DQ. 

He has yet to receive formal confirmation that he will continue to LIV.

"As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases"