Beyonce Releases ‘Break My Soul’, A Disco-Inspired New Single

For Beyonce’s fans, the wait is over with the release of the First Edition of ‘Renaissance’ album.

Beyonce’s new single, “Break My Soul,” off her upcoming seventh solo studio album, “Renaissance,” was released three hours ahead of schedule, and fans can’t keep calm!

It’s the moment Beyoncé’s fans have been eagerly waiting for and were equally surprised when it happened. 

A driving dance song with a plinking, relentless hook, a blazing beat, and intermittent exhortations from Big Freedia, co-produced by the “Single Ladies” combo of Tricky Stewart and The Dream.

With her reappearance and the disco atmosphere of the song, Beyonce is giving a message: “You won’t break my soul,” followed by a statement of intent:

“I’mma let down my hair ’cause I lost my mind

Bey is back and I’m sleeping real good at night

The queen’s in the front and the Dom’s in the back

Ain’t taking no flicks but the whole clique snapped.”

Beyoncé – BREAK MY SOUL (Official Lyric Video)

It’s chock-full of groovy lyrics like “Motivation/I’m looking for a new foundation/I’m on that new vibration/I’m building my own foundation” with repeated stress to “Everybody.”

The song was initially available on Tidal — the streaming service co-owned by Beyonce’s husband, Jay-Z, three hours before its announced release time of midnight ET, and on Vevo/YouTube an hour or so later, in an apparent dig at big streaming services like Spotify and Apple Music. 

Beyonce has quite a track record of doing this: her 2016 album “Lemonade” was only available on Tidal for three years, costing her millions in streaming royalties.

On June 16, 2022, Beyonce announced that her long-awaited album would be released on July 29, this year.

According to ‘Variety,’ the album will include dance and country-leaning tracks, as well as contributions from star songwriter Ryan Tedder, who co-wrote her 2008 smash ‘Halo,’ as well as hits for Adele, Taylor Swift, the Jonas Brothers, and his group, OneRepublic.

Raphael Saadiq, who has written and produced for Mary J. Blige, D’Angelo, Stevie Wonder, John Legend, and Andra Day in addition to his solo albums, is scheduled to participate. He also executive-produced the well-received 2016 album Seat at the Table by Solange Knowles.

It’s quite uncertain if the country songs will be released as a separate album or as part of the initial edition of “Renaissance.”

The singer is not unfamiliar with country music: her song “Daddy Lessons,” from the 2016 album “Lemonade,” is twangy and was also covered by the Chicks (then known as the Dixie Chicks).

Well, fans have already guessed that the album would feature 16 tracks and that it would be released in multiple parts, as indicated by the fact that it is billed as “Act 1” on the cover.

Pre-orders for four separate boxed sets of the album labeled “Pose” 1-4 and featuring a CD, T-shirt, and box, are also available on Beyonce’s website. However, given that they all ship on the same day as the record, it’s likely that they’re merely separate ‘Act 1’ packages.

The singer gave the first sign of trouble earlier this month when she deleted her social media accounts, which have yet to be fully repopulated, as shown by the absence of profile pictures.

Since her blockbuster 2016 album “Lemonade,” Beyoncé has released four albums, none of which are full of Beyoncé’s solo albums.

In 2018, she released “Everything Is Love,” a collaboration with husband Jay-Z under the name The Carters; in April 2019, she released “Homecoming,” an album of her spectacular 2018 Coachella performance, which she was supported by a full marching band (and which was also released as a Netflix special as part of a $60 million deal).

That summer, she recorded “The Lion King: The Gift,” a Disney film companion album that included three new songs by Beyoncé along with contributions from Kendrick Lamar, Donald Glover, and others.

As well as songs by 070 Shake, Tierra Whack, and African musicians such as Burna Boy, Mr. Eazi, Tiwa Savage, and others, a year later, a deluxe edition of the album was released with three additional tracks.

"As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases"